Posted by: buzzybeegirl | July 29, 2008

In the beginning

Some of you may ponder the question, how the heck did Anna get into bees? It may surprise you that I did not initially go to college to study bees. Or anything that involved being outdoors. It wasn’t that I didn’t like being out in nature, I just didn’t know you could study it and make a career of it. I got my undergraduate degree in neuroscience, because I was fascinated with behavior and wanted to know how it worked. I also thought you had to work with either the lab rat or human subjects. During the end of my senior year my now husband, R, was directing a summer ecology research internship. I was a participant. He was a graduate student studying plant=pollinator communities. So he would go to the local mountains and catch insects as they visited flowers. As part of the program requirement, students had to carry out an independent study. I saw these really cool, really pretty metallic insects flying to flowers. They were bees in genus Osmia. I did a project which observed how these cute critters would visit flowers. I began reading more about bees and the more I read, the more I wanted to know. Then it happened…I fell head over heels for them. I was in love. And can you blame me? Look at them…

So cute. How can you not love this face?

So fuzzy and beautiful.

So graceful and mysterious.

They are the perfect love for me.

Responses

  1. anna! you photo punk! i’m so mad at you because your photos are so good!

    thanks for teaching me about how lovable bees are.
    let us schedule our first meeting about the lovable bugs, shall we?

  2. What lovely pictures. You made this dog’s day.

  3. They do have cute and fuzzy faces! I’m always a little afraid of the ouchie end, though, but I never swat a bee — I just run away from them.

  4. Great pics and thanks for the insight on how you came to bee interested in them.

    Did you see that? “Bee”? I’m so funny.

  5. Yes goodbear. We will get together soon and talk about lovable bugs.

    Using “bee” will always make me smile forkboy


Leave a Reply

Categories

