Posted by: buzzybeegirl | August 26, 2008

Caterpillar Invasion

Sunday R and I went to visit some local vineyards for wine tasting. On the way back we took a turn into the local mountains to take some bug photos. There were many many exciting insects around the area. Unfortunately the bees were not so active. But, I did get some photos of a few of the caterpillars that were out. I haven’t gotten to identifying them, so if anyone out there knows what they are please let me know.

I know they are not bees, but they are also cool looking…And people, they are after all, pollinators. Whether butterflies or moths. They do pollinate.

Here we go…The other pollinators:

Those stiff looking spikes scream “I have toxins and I’m not afraid to use them!”

How beautiful is the color yellow on this one? So yellow, so fuzzy. Dots are included with this one.

The colors people! Look at the colors. How can people think these are creepy? They are beautiful.

This is what my hair looks like with the humidity right now. I think this style is in.

Even though bees are close to my heart, I do love and respect other pollinator groups. We need them to live, they are the life of most ecosystems, and are vital for over 80% of flowering plants. Pollinators should be close to all our hearts. I hope you enjoy the photos.

Responses

  1. Looks like everyone is having a bad hair day! 😉 When I was a kid my favorite caterpillars were the tent caterpillars, and of course the woolly bears. I was never so much into the punk-rock ones.

  2. MORE COLORS! MORE EVIL ICKY BUGS TO INHABIT MY NIGHTMARES….They’ll scare away the demons FOR SURE! MORE! MORE!

  3. Oh, my goodness, I’m gonna have nightmares for weeks now!

  4. Good grief. Your neck of the woods appears to be controlled by bees and caterpillars!

  5. Now I know why i love it here forkboy

  6. I forgot to mention that your photographs are extraordinary.

  7. Thanks Checkers =-)

  8. Hey, thanks for the compliment and the info on my photo blog.

    I love your photos. My favorite on this post is the one of the blue guy.

    Also, my biology teacher in college was an Entomologist. She always knew such interesting things about little creatures. I have a fascination with anything really tiny, so I suppose insects fall into that category…

    Thanks again, and happy blogging!

  9. […] post is a follow up to one of my earlier post, caterpillar invasion. I received an e-mail […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

