Posted by: buzzybeegirl | September 16, 2008

Where are they now?

It’s been about a week since I last blogged. I admit, I missed it. I really enjoy writing and posting pictures about insects…especially our local native bees. They are so beautiful, majestic, and mysterious. Who wouldn’t want to learn about them.

I have mentioned a bit about what my graduate project is about. I have also let you in on the wonderful world of bee architecture. With all of this information you may still be wondering, “So what is she doing now?” Around mid-June I had to go back to all my sites to pick up all the sticks. I had to pick up all the empty nests and all the nests occupied with bees. Here I am. In the beginning of summer. In Southern Arizona. Outdoors.

It was HOT! I usually wear a white long sleeved shirt to protect myself from the sun, but it was too hot.

I am holding two buckets. One for the empties and one for the nests that were used by bees. Organization is important people. Can you imagine if I didn’t separate them at the beginning? I would have to sort through about 1,000 sticks! That wouldn’t be fun at all.

So, the sticks were picked up. What now. Well, the sticks were taken back to my house where they sit in their buckets, inside my spare bedroom…my pseudo lab. You see, the sticks contain baby bees inside. When these bees grow up they will want to fly out of the sticks and start their new lives outdoors. To prevent a mass explosion of bees inside my house I had to cover the entrance with metal screen. So if the bees try to fly out, they will fly into the screen and I can catch them. I can also determine what species they are. So right now, as I write this post. There are three buckets full of occupied, baby bee holding, artificial bees nests sitting next to me. They look funny with metal screen over them. What will happen next? I have to start preparing the nests so they can be x-rayed. That is one of the coolest parts of the project. Going to the local hospital, carrying buckets with sticks, getting the bees x-rayed. It’s funny to see me at the radiology department. There are patients there getting x-rays as well. I am there getting my nests x-rayed. My cute baby bees.

Responses

  1. were any of your sticks missing or damaged while they were out?
    how did you choose where to put them?

  2. Is there any chance these x-rays will transform the baby bees into giant super-bees? If so, I for one welcome our new bee overlords …

  3. Some sticks were missing or damaged by the time I had to pick them up. There were ground squirrels that found the sticks tasty.

    Should we make “welcome” banners for the giant bees?

  4. Considering I just watched “The Host” (reviewed by james last month), I’d say that x-raying the bees will most likely cause them to rise up, claim you as their Queen, and do your bidding as the giant super-bees that james suggests.
    You may need to get earplugs.

  5. james is always so quick to swear allegiance to any possible overlords. i dig that about him. he’s a survivor…

  6. You gotta be a survivor. These bees are smart you know. Who knows what mayhem they can cause as overlords

  7. […] Storage Guide In my last post I explained how I had to go out to my field sites and pick up all my bee nests/sticks. Goodbear […]

  8. X-ray’ing bee nests.

    Now I’ve heard everything.

    😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

