Posted by: buzzybeegirl | September 21, 2008

Dedicated to Mindy

I was going to blog about how I would catch the emerging bees from their nest, but I just couldn’t bring myself to blog Friday or Saturday. I promise I will blog about, but not this weekend. You see, Saturday was my dog Mindy’s 2nd birthday. For those of you who visit goodbears blog, you may know who this is. Mindy was one of my dogs, my child, my baby, that had to be put down this past June. She would have been 2 years old today, September 20. Yes…only 2 years old. I was cranky all week. I knew the day was coming up. I had warned some people. Thursday I was in the lab setting up some reactions. My phone started to vibrate. I started to cry and I ran out of the lab. I was just irritated. It had nothing to do with the call or workload for the week (which has been brutal). It was the date. My baby was not here to celebrate. She was young. Too young to go.

Mindy

Mindy

I slept all day Saturday after my morning errands. I could not sleep all night Friday. I was crying all night. One of our foster puppies was also waking up. None the less, I miss Mindy. I couldn’t stop thinking about her. I felt like a bee without direction. My wings were folded back, my abdomen curled in, and my antennae were down. I just wasn’t motivated.

Saturday night I went out to dinner with goodbear. Being around her always cheers me up. I didn’t tell her it was Mindy’s birthday. I just wanted to be around her. I needed to be around someone who understood me. Someone who is happy. Someone who is kind and loving. Goodbear is that person. Being around her always brings a smile. That is what I needed. After sleeping all day I just needed to smile and laugh. That’s just what we did at dinner.

Mindy (Photo by Goodbear aka Digital Muzzle)

Mindy (Photo by Goodbear aka Digital Muzzle)

I know this post has nothing to do with bees or other insects, but this is still a part of who I am. So, this post id dedicated to Mindy. A high spirited,loving girl who was a fighter to the end. Happy Birthday little girl.

Mindy & Rosie

Mindy & Rosie

Responses

  1. I sympathize/empathize with your pain. I’ve had to put down too many of my pups (aka dogs of any age) through the years. I am not looking forward to the day when I have to put Monroe down…we are attached at the hip.
    Be confident that the Great Spirit is watching over her, that she is enjoying the things she always enjoyed and is nearby to you always, wherever you are…and that she’ll be there when you arrive, too.

  2. The only comfort I ever draw from the loss of the more furry members of my household is the knowledge they are never really gone. Not as long as I have breath in my body.

  3. hi anna. i’m still so sorry about mindy’s passing. she was such a gentle soul and she loved you guys so much! your dogs are so lucky to have you and ruben. you’re the best dog parents and wonderful friends, as well.

    and you really did a super crappy week. i hope things calm down at work for you soon.

  4. Anna,

    I am so sorry to hear about your dog Mindy.

  5. Aww … happy birthday, missing Mindy.

  6. Thank you all for the comforting comments. It is times like these that I feel lucky to have such special people in my life. Thank you.

  7. BBG-thanks for stopping by with your kind words. Mindy’s such a cute pup. Sorry for your loss.

  8. Thanks for the pics of Mindy. What a sweet, sweet girl she was. I remember goodbear keeping us up to date during her sickness. I know Mindy is looking in on you, giving you lots of wags and love.


Leave a Reply

Categories

