Posted by: buzzybeegirl | December 2, 2008

My first meme

So far I have given two talks during the past two weeks and I still have one more to go. This Friday it ends. i can get back to blogging. But before I go, I have to let you know that I was tagged by Bug Girl. It’s time for the 6 random things meme.

The rules are:
1. Link to the person who tagged you.
2. Post the rules on your blog.
3. Write six random things about yourself.
4. Tag six people at the end of your post and link to them.
5. Let each person know they’ve been tagged and leave a comment on their blog.
6. Let the tagger know when your entry is up.

So here we go…6 random things about me:

1. My undergraduate degree was in neuroscience and not in neither entomology nor ecology. I became interested in insects, bees in particular, during a post graduate summer internship.

2. I can blow air out of my eyes. I can also drink stuff and have it come out of my eyes like tears. I have not done the latter in a while, but I still do the air…my husband finds it creepy.

3. I have a pet chinchilla named Blinky, who has been with me for the past 13 years.

4. I am a big Simpson’s fan. All of my dogs are names after Simpson’s characters:

Hoju is short for Homer Jr. a name Homer says in the Monorail episode.

Barney, Homer’s drunk friend.

Kodos, the space alien.

Maggie, the Simpson baby.

5. I don’t catch insects for fun anymore. I only catch and keep when it is necessary for research. I just feel bad catching and keeping just because I think they are pretty. I would want others to enjoy their beauty.

6. I dressed up as Yoda for Halloween when I was in first grade.

yoda-400x3001

photo from (thedailymind.com)

Here are the 6 tags, which are creative tags (photographers, writers, dogs that can write funny blogs, etc.):

1. Cody Bear’s Friends

2. Sam Bissell

3. Forkboy’s Photographic Travails

4. Dennis’s Diary of Destruction

5. James Viscosi’s Scribblings (don’t let Dennis copy your answers!)

6. Catherine Sherman

See this as a way for us all to get to know each other better.

Responses

  1. Great answers! I love the “Monorail” episode; I’m often wont to say “Think harder, Homer” in various situations.

  2. Another favorite line “I call the big one bitey.” Gotta love that show

  3. Now you are going to have to forgive me on this one buzzybee……I tend to keep my WordPress blog geared towards photography-only related matters and as such the tag-thing doesn’t quite fly.

    However, in fairness to your request I will gladly share with you six random bits of stuff regarding moi:

    1) I can build my own computer.
    2) I have a piece of pencil lead stuck in the palm of my right hand – a childhood accident.
    3) I have Christmas cards from former British Prime Minister Tony Blair, MP.
    4) Most people say my nicest physical characteristic is the colour of my eyes (kind of an icy blue).
    5) I wear short pants all winter long. I’m never cold.
    6) I’m a total and complete dork.

    • Sorry about that forkboy. I am still a bit new and next time I just won’t respond to them…or tag you =-)
      But short pants?? I get cold at 75 F. I’m just a wuss when it comes to the cold.

  4. […] the Vizsla on December 7, 2008 hello nice reederz its dennis the vizsla dog wel i hav ben tagd for another meem by my gud frend anna the buzzy bee girl hoo is not aktchooally a bee girl but rather is a girl wot […]

  5. […] Diary of Destruction, Anna of Anna’s Bee World, tagged both Dennis and me for a Six Facts meme.  Dennis already has posted his, which means it’s time for me to post mine.  But […]

  6. Our memes are up, Anna!

  7. Sorry I missed your speaking engagements…didn’t think I could drive 1800 miles round-trip and make it to work on time, without losing my “new” job. (Got promoted last week to Soup Chef, or as folks are now calling me “Soup Nazi [an episode of Seinfeld I’ve never seen], and am getting along well with!)

    The meme sounds interesting, though I’m not sure I have 6 peope who will go along with it as it seems sorta like a chain letter. Hmmmmmm…..

    Well, when I do it, be sure to look at my blog, if you haven’t recently, my most recent one is interesting for the fact that I do something with a single photo that is pretty interesting. But I really want you to see the photo taken WSW of Tucson that I took in 2003. (And its counterpart!).

    Meme, huh? OK……….

    Sam

    • Soup Nazi…that’s funny. I did see that episode during reruns. I never watched it when it was actually running. No worries on the memes. Sorry to tag you. I say forget it. I had a hard time thinking about what to put up. I will check out your site right now…

  8. No need to apologize – you were being friendly and I was touched, honestly, that you included me.

    I save that sort of thing for my Myspace page as my WordPress blog, as I stated before, is rather specific.

    But noticed I shared regardless!

    I know….I know…..I put on pants when it gets below 10. And not always then either. Must be the Norse blood in me!


Leave a Reply

Categories

