Posted by: buzzybeegirl | May 18, 2009

The Sting Meme

I have been tagged by Myrmecos for the meme Things That Have Stung Me. So here are the rules:

  1. List all the things that have stung you.
  2. Bites don’t count.
  3. Pass the meme to 3 or more other bloggers you suspect have also been well-zinged.

I hate to admit it, but my stinging history is not as colorful (and painful) as one might suspect. So here are the things that have stung me:

Bees:

Apis mellifera (honeybees)

Lasioglossum sp. (sweat bees) Don’t fold your arms when they are drinking sweat from them.

Osmia sp.: This one I deserved. I was learning how to catch and place bees into insect vials. I accidentally squeezed the the bee between the vial wall and my finger. I learned very quickly after that.

Wasps:

various Vespula sp. (yellow-jackets)

Ants

I don’t know what ant stung me. All I know is it was in my pants (after a research trip), it stung me 3 times and left my right leg numb, and in pain with 3 large bruises. By the time I stopped the car, pulled my pants down, it was rolled in a ball and I quickly tossed it out the window.

Now, here are people I would like to know about:

1. goodbear

2. bug girl

3. Norwegica

Responses

  1. Ow ow ow ow ow ow

  2. Sorry to disappoint but I’ve only been stung twice – first as a child when a wasp (Vespula sp) decided to fly up my trouser leg, and then a few years ago when a hornet (Vespa crabro) stung me on the forehead whist I was photographing them at a nest.

    Some people actively avoid aculeates and yet just seem to get stung more than others..

  3. Oh, I”m going to have to think about this one. Hmmm….do jellyfish count?

  4. I was just stung by a large tax bill last month…

  5. Tarantula hawk stung me while I was riding down Kitt Peak highway last summer on my bike. Now I have more respect for those animals.


Leave a Reply

Categories

