Posted by: buzzybeegirl | June 4, 2009

A Bee-achelors life

Buzzy is Back! And I passed…I defended my Master’s research and passed. Yay! Thanks to everyone who sent well wishes. Your thoughts were greatly appreciated. Now I have time to…well, work on my manuscript (more), get ready to move to California, and find a job in California. Hint, hint…any Californians hiring?

O.K. back to the bees…I mean what could be better, right? So here they are…the bee bachelors.

In previous posts (and here) I wrote about how male bees usually do not sleep inside the nest with the females, but they find their own places to bunker down for the night. Some sleep in flowers, others cluster together by the hundreds on a tree branch, and others will chose a branch or leaf to bite down on and hang on for the night.

I found one male hanging on a leaf…

I also found two males, facing each other. Although it looks as if antennae wars are going on, they are not, but who knows what goes on when the sun goes down…

2 bees on stick

And I also found many males on a branch…

bees on stick2b

It was like a bee bachelor party was going on!

For more lovely photos of sleeping male bees, please visit goodbears new nature blog and Eric Eaton’s insect blog with photos of sleeping male longhorned bees (I love the long horned bees…they are absolutely adorable!).

Responses

  1. picture #1….is that a dog hair on his leaf?
    you must have been at my house…

  2. I can’t get you a job, but if you come through the mithical land of Sandy Eggo, I can arrange for you to meet Dennis, Tucker, and Trixie! And Trouble, if you’re feeling brave …

    • I’m sensing a roadtrip is in the works. And I know Dennis will lay out his bed on the kitchen floor for me 🙂

  3. Congrats!!!
    If I see any openings, I’ll pass it on to you.

    And that last photo is wild–I had no idea they would line up like that.

    • Thanks for the help bug girl 🙂

  4. So cute! I love your bees. They’re all fuzzy and adorable, so very unlike most of the things I work with!

    • Thanks for visiting dragonflywoman! They are little fuzz balls, too bad they are too small to pet!

  5. While late, congratulations on all your success!

    • Thanks forkboy. It’s good to have you back 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

