Posted by: buzzybeegirl | September 14, 2009

What’s for Lunch?

During my lunch break I have been walking around the patio behind the building I work at. The building is on a small cliff overlooking the ocean, so I spend some time watching the waves, birds, boats, and the occasional swimmer. But, the patio is also filled with many plants. Many flowering plants. Looking at the flowers and watching for bees is what I do after I finish eating my lunch. It was worth it. So much action is going on…you just need to look.

I saw many honey bees visiting flowers. Like this girl, who buzzed around from flower head to flower head, gather pollen and nectar to take back to the hive.

honeybee on yellow flower

I also observed many different  spiders. Like this beautiful green lynx spider…

green lynx spider

They live on the plants and flowers, waiting for unsuspecting insects. She is just waiting…waiting for that one visitor who is not paying attention…Then…

BAM!!!

spider caught honeybee

She caught a honey bee! Lunch time!

Responses

  1. What a beautiful spider!
    This year our city garden had more visits from wild bees than domestic honey bees. In fact it has only been the last few weeks that I have noticed a few honey bee visits.

    • That’s great. Where do you live Adrian?

      • I live in Edmonton, Alberta.

        But not so great perhaps? Could this be due to colony collapse disorder?

        Regardless, I enjoy the variety I find in the garden. I blog my macro photos at http://nobonesaboutit.wordpress.com/

        I haven’t posted all the bee photos yet, I still need to ID them.

  2. Great capture. Last weekend I took some video of a female green lynx spider guarding her egg sac.

  3. Great shots and what timing to capture such a moment.

  4. Great pictures. We also have a lot of lynx spiders, and honeybees. I photographed one with a honeybee meal too – pretty wild stuff goes on in our yards. (http://wildsuburbia.blogspot.com/2008/12/spider-1-bee-0.html). It is nice that you have had so many wild bees.

    Barbara

  5. I found your blog while doing a google search on Spiders. I have some lovely pictures of Lynx Spiders and various bees and other pollinators too. When I am not taking pictures of them all, I am trying to identify them 🙂

    I added your blog to my blogroll. Your work in the Sonoran Desert sounds exciting. Are you participating in the USGS Bee Spotter Program?

    • Hi Sister bluebird. You should post the lynx spiders on your blog. I would love to see them. I look forward to following your blog 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

